Club History
The St. Thomas Sportsmen's Association was organized January 3, 1921, by a group of 19 concerned citizens, with these purposes in mind: Game Protection, Feeding Wildlife, and Conservation.
The citizens held their first meeting at the St. Thomas Twp. High School, electing President, C.C. Spidel; Treasurer, John Small; and Secretary, C. Frank Gillian.
It was voted to have an initiation fee of 25 cents and yearly dues of $1.00. Receipts of the evening totaled $4.00.
The January 3, 1921 to January 9, 1922 yearly report:
Membership 37
Receipts $22.00
Expenses $11.25
Balance $10.75
Books audited by H.J. Diffenderfer and Wesley Geiman
1921 Membership roll:
C. C. Spidel B. M. Martin Don F. Ault
John C. Small Edgar Gelwicks Robert Keefer
C. Frank Gillan W. G. Brindle H. J. Diffenderfer
John E. Bloyer David Shuman James M. Andrews
Garnet Gillan Wesley Geiman W. O. Bingham
Paul R. Shatzer Joshua Stevens Russel Hammer
Floyd George Charles H. Brandt Howard Truax
H. Scott Detrich H. R. Cordell Verne Pheil
Lester K. Christman Wm. H. Barnes Merle Sollenberger
Frank A. Brindle Norman Stevens Charles Fox
David Reed Roy E. Pugh E. Preston Shank
George Harrison John Rogers Garfield Morse
W. A. Conners J. Rexroth Ray Martin
From 1921 to 1967, many location were found to hold the club meeting, such as the St. Thomas High School, Christman's Garage, and the St. Thomas Community Center.
In April 1967, meetings were moved to the Detrich-Brechbill American Legion Post 612. Afterward the Detrich-Brechbill Rifle and Pistol Club merged with the St. Thomas Sportsmen's Association. The Club incorporated in 1972, and purchased land in May 1975, from Russel Hutton, along the Apple Way. The first meeting at the new club ground was held April 14, 1975. During the following months, land was cleared, trap ranges installed, and a pavilion was built.
Monthly meetings were then held on the club grounds in a mobile trailer until July 1978, when the pavilion was enclosed to build a clubhouse.
In February, 1979, the second plot of ground was purchased from Calvin Mackey. At present the Club is active in trap shooting, .22 cal shooting, black powder shooting, turkey shoots, ground hog shoots, and archery. The Club is affiliated with the National Rifle Association, The Franklin County Federation of Sportsmen and the Pennsylvania Federation of Sportsmen.
The St. Thomas Sportsmen's Association is the second oldest sportsmen's club in Pennsylvania.
Past Presidents: Robert Alleman 1983 - 2008
  Dennis McGanns 1981 - 1982
  Alvey Gordon 1978 - 1980
  Don Martz 1973 - 1977
  Charles Ringer 1971 - 1972
  Thurman Finniff 1967 - 1970
  Clifford Kaiser 1966
  Joseph Hawbaker 1965
  Theodore Spidel 1949 - 1964
All contents � Copyright 2018 by St. Thomas Sportsmen Association. No part may be reproduced in any form without explicit written permission.